Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Okay Samsa!

with 4 comments

I looked and looked for the Beatles poem but as I was looking I found an application for a certain club that you took over from Ms. Fontana  (I think you know what I’m talking about) the year you put the impressions club online…and i gave you my only copy because I printed only one too read at our poetry slam….So I fear it is lost forever…however, I did find a nice morbid writing exercise we did  about the lovely missed halls of Lp which you seemed to like well..that’s what you wrote in my notebook….and yes I realize this is one very large run on sentence I did not intend on it being this long and I apologize.

 

So here we go I like to call this one…??    Highschool.

The dawn swallowed me whole that day.  The sun slowly crept into my window, finding every crack and opening it could seep into.  The sun’s emission forced life into my cold hollow body.  As it breathed into me I accepted it, and got up out of bed, but I wasn’t happy about it.

I got to school the tangled halls were dank and screamed a smell so loud that I almost couldn’t hear it. People walked by me like I was a forgotten zombie and I was.  I walked these halls every day the same way.  An exquisite corpse drinking blood red wine for lunch and slurping up Nacho Grande every other day.  Is this what we call life?

These days are numbered but I don’t care enough to count down. One day ill dip into a life I longed to have, until then I’ll continue to wait for the ever freeing release of that extra terribly sharp E note that so cleverly sounds at 2:55.

Written by arstal2

April 29, 2009 at 3:23 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are some fantastically horrifying lines in this piece: “The dawn swallowed me whole that day.” “People walked by me like I was a forgotten zombie and I was.”

    Holy poop. Scary stuff.

    Which makes me want to see these lines couched in something much more sinister, even if it’s sort of mundane in nature. The rest of the piece as it is does a good job of evoking the monotony of high school, but I like the idea of pulling out the stuff that’s working here and shaping a piece out of that. Something to consider…

    cd40

    April 30, 2009 at 3:17 am

  2. Actually interesting fact about this peice was we had to take the lines..”I was a forgotten zombie, an exquist corpse drinking blood red wine” and put them anywhere in poem/story for some reason that day I was not liking highschool haha. However, I have thought about re-writting this piece many times the first time I reread it I had forgotten that it was about highschool I was hoping it would be much sweeter than that

    arstal2

    April 30, 2009 at 4:50 pm

  3. I agree with Chels. This needs to become a sinister poem using exactly those lines she referenced.

    Also, because I remember this assignment, you needed to use one of the lines we created as a class in your piece. I see the line there, and I think it doesn’t work, honestly. However, it did evoke the kinds of images that Chels talks about here that you could use to really make something awesome.

    Your assignment: Revise this one and repost it. I want to see what you can do with this awesome piece. 😉

    Ashley

    May 2, 2009 at 3:58 pm

  4. I don’t know what to change it too…it already has a life..gimmie a topic…any topic…not cupcakes though cause it’d be hard to talk about sinister cupcakes..

    arstal2

    May 3, 2009 at 4:50 am


Leave a Reply

