Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

It’s a girl thing?

leave a comment »

New shoes are wonderful
I don’t even really like shopping
or getting my hair and nails done
and all that jazz….but new shoes…

mmm.

It’s like I’ve been abusing my feet
walking to the bus stop
walking around campus
walking to keep kids from killing eachother
walking to exersize
and old shoes are nice
they have character
they have a past
and a story
and like…a soul
My chuck taylors are part of me
I don’t care if that’s cheesey they’ve seen
colorado, utah, chicago, my first kiss
love loss heartache happiness concerts movies

alas…they hurt my damn feet
i love them and all my other old shoes
but putting on new shoes is like…..
slipping my foot into a silk support system
College kids need new shoes…mmhmm

Written by arstal2

February 28, 2009 at 4:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

