Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

continuation

with 4 comments

So, raise your hand if you fell off the face of the planet for the poem a day challenge…

I noticed some discussion on the Samsanator’s blog about possibly continuing this effort, albeit in weekly, not daily form. I’d be up for that…anyone else? I also thought it might be cool to staggar the days, so like I would post every, say, Tuesday, Samsanator Wednesday, etc. That way, there’s a new poem posted every day, and we all have the chance to comment on each others’ work rather than feel guilty about having not posted anything by the end of the week. And if we don’t have a poem, maybe just some writing-related content?

Questions? Concerns? Nausea?

Written by cd40

February 26, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that sounds like a good idea. I think could keep up with one a week, hopefully

    gorditodelgado

    February 26, 2009 at 9:26 pm

  2. I would definitely enjoy attempting to write a poem a week. Poem a Day was a great idea and a way to get me back into writing quickly… but I fell off quickly. I can manage one a week, I think!

    I also like the idea of staggering the days. However, I think for me, personally, I might get into a rut if I have the same day every week that I have to write toward… I’d rather have a new day every week (instead of always, say, Wednesdays). But some people may always want the same day because of their schedules. So… that’s something to think about too.

    Definitely love the idea.

    windfriction

    February 27, 2009 at 2:28 am

  3. Ohhh, I like the staggering the day thing. I wonder if that would just kind of happen naturally if we said “OK, post a poem a week” and people could just do what worked for them… I mean, my schedule is such that I’d probably end up posting on Mondays or Tuesdays, and other people might jump in on a later day or something. Just food for thought.

    We could also do one poetic form a week. Like everyone writes a ghazal (remember those?!) one week, everyone writes free verse the next, etc. That might get awful really fast, though.

    I’m definitely in for once a week, though. I’m psyched. I love this community!

    TheSamsanator

    February 27, 2009 at 2:33 am

  4. I like the “if we don’t have a poem, maybe just some writing related content” idea, too. This is, after all, a writing community – a place we can go for ideas, suggestions, information, etc. We could each be responsible for one day if that were the case, and maybe a few random posts, too. Hmm…

    I call Tuesdays. 😉

    TheSamsanator

    February 27, 2009 at 2:35 am


Leave a Reply

