Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Poetry and Process

with 2 comments

For today’s poem, I was once again, inspired by the esteemed Dr. Theune.  I did this by myself, though, because I was at school on my lunch and I was flying solo today.

First, I wrote five first lines and five second lines on separate sheets of paper.

Then, I cut them into strips, making sure to keep them in two separate piles.

Third, I folded the strips and placed them in a bowl.

I drew them out, one by one, and numbered them 1-5.  Of course, I subsequently repeated this for the second lines.

Last, I wrote down the matches in my trusty notebook.

Here are the results:
1.
The children were laughing
and I wasn’t going anywhere.

2.
The flowers were in full bloom
and the straw broke the camel.

3.
I didn’t know what to say
with the knife in her hand.

4.
She tried to hide her eyes
but he stomped his food down.

5.
She looked defiantly into the sun
where the floor met the stairs.

I don’t think many of those are “ironic,” really, but I think it was pretty cool. 🙂

Written by Ashley

February 25, 2009 at 11:20 pm

Posted in Poem

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just linked up to this post over at the Structure & Surprise blog, Ashley– I love this process, love the poems that emerged from it, and, well, the photos are really helpful! Cheers, Mike

    Mike Theune

    April 16, 2009 at 3:18 am

    • Theune! I can’t even tell you how excited I am that you found this blog and have commented and you LIKE it! I guess I’m still a little undergrad creative writer at heart.

      Good to see you here; come back often! And be sure to check out what your other students are up to on here! 🙂

      Ashley

      April 16, 2009 at 2:57 pm


Leave a Reply

