Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Blackout Nights

leave a comment »

With every day of my life
I’ve tried to live as best I can
Uncontrollable  forces
Effect every grain of sand
The weight that I carry
Can only increase
But still, I feel nothing

I wish that I could explain to anyone
My hopes and dreams and even fears
I wish that I could explain them to me

Sometimes it’s just too hard
To put the events of my life
Into coherent  words
I don’t want a lot
I just want to know
How am I supposed to
 keep doing this alone?

I hope I can find a way someday
To vocalize everything I’ve been feeling
But by then it won’t have any meaning

For some reason unknown to me
The only time words come
Are on dizzy nights
With little right
And no promotion
My only outlet
Will linger

On random nights  In random places With random people
I’ll ramble on and cry for no reason
And try to remember it in the morning

Written by arstal2

February 22, 2009 at 6:21 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

