Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

and the other

with one comment

This was in tribute to “To His Coy Mistress” by Andrew Marvell for Honecker I think, or Samsa. I’m pretty sure it’s Honecker tho

To His Ambitious Mistress

By: Mike Calderon

Had we but world enough and time,

This ambition, my friend, would be no crime.

To the movies we could go

And you could pay for the show.

When the lights go down, your hand I’d hold,

My jacket you’d wear when it got cold,

And perhaps after a thousand years

I’ll change enough to belay your fears.

I might fall in love with you, but I think

That even after a millennia, our hearts won’t link.

Now don’t get me wrong, I do care

About you, your happiness, and your welfare

And such love I have for you.

And this love I hope you have too.

For you seem to be more of a good friend

And such a relationship I would not want to end.

So we can hang out after school

And going out to eat after practice is cool.

We can talk at lunch about that test

and when it comes to doubles ping pong we’re the best.

Our Camaraderie we can easily show

But let’s stick with friends and take it slow.

Written by gorditodelgado

February 16, 2009 at 1:43 am

Posted in Poem

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. and by tribute, i mean what a douche, he just wanted to get laid

    gorditodelgado

    February 16, 2009 at 2:11 am


Leave a Reply

