Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Dirty Barry Stole the Bluebird

with 2 comments

Full disclosure: This poem and yesterday’s poem were both adopted from a sort of Facebook/iTunes game. The kind where you have all these questions like “What was your first crush like?” and you put your iTunes on shuffle and get “Toxic” and have to use that as the answer, and then tag 25 people and go about your day. Yesterday’s I think I did a better job of hiding the song references, but this one may get a bit obviously, so just thought I’d give you that background in case you thought I was going crazy or had some sudden obsession with the Beatles (note: ongoing obsession as always).

*****************************************************

I woke up a newborn muse.

Fell in love with the power out three neighborhoods away.

My heart on fire, like quarters hot in an arcade.

I finally meet someone great and have a mental breakdown.

Heavy metal crashed, echoed throughout my internal soundsystem.

 

The dance was modest, like satin lining a coffin. That was sarcasm.

It was a bad night the first time we made love. We lost that first spark, like the first day of school.

You fought me for my heart. You left me with a black eye. The fight was not metaphorical.

My lady Madonna had left me. Ran for her life and hid.

I watched my life burn like Norwegian wood. Isn’t it good? (It wasn’t)

And remembered you skipping through strawberry fields.

I wanted to be with you forever. But I’m your villian. We could never be together.

 

But my life went on without you. I got through my marriage with incense and peppermints. Had a child (presto!). And another. Kept thinking, oh, here it goes again, but it never stopped.

And in my final scene, alone on a hill, I realized what a fool I had been all this time.

Written by TheUndomestic

February 12, 2009 at 3:30 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tee hee, because yesterday I was going to comment on the song references….

    Becky

    February 12, 2009 at 12:32 pm

  2. I was, too!

    TheSamsanator

    February 13, 2009 at 3:14 am


Leave a Reply

