Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Notes on Trespassing in New York, Pt 2

with 5 comments

The lighthouse stands alone at the tip of the island, waves crashing against the curve of land, the flow of the river reversing on a whim as mysterious waters are apt to do.

Further down, the steel electric blue of the Emperor’s lights illuminate rain crystals on the dirty windows of the tram; droplets that drip sullenly together and quickly collect into the red pool on the bottom of the octagonal car.

That night I dreamt I swam in a maze of lucid fishtanks, and you carried me through as dark pawns reached out to grab at me. You were dressed in all black.  I was saved, and we went out for a beer after.

As I made my way home, I lay witness to a woman shuffling her way through a subway car, a Godspell song uttered upon her thick, hungry lips.

Where I walked, a garbage bag floated above the sidewalks like red balloons over the skies of Paris.

In my hallways, someone stood passing out flyers like it was a crowded street corner, and I tripped over a chicken bone left abandoned on the carpet, like trash left behind at Union Square.

A few doors down I could hear a grown man’s voice yelling in heated argument, “What the fuck were you thinking?” He isn’t speaking to me, but what was it, I wonder.

And suitcases, always suitcases, haunted my existence.

Written by TheUndomestic

February 10, 2009 at 2:47 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Where I walked, a garbage bag floated above the sidewalks like red balloons over the skies of Paris.” I love how you make the remedial into important images.

    TheSamsanator

    February 10, 2009 at 3:02 am

  2. I suppose that should be “an important image.” Whatever. I can’t be an English teacher ALL the time…

    TheSamsanator

    February 10, 2009 at 3:02 am

  3. There’s my nod to the movie “The Red Balloon,” and also a bit to “American Beauty.”

    It’s okay, call out my images and I will explain my references, like a good student! 🙂

    mandysue411

    February 10, 2009 at 4:25 am

  4. Wait, where’s part I? Or is that the question you want us to ask…..?

    Becky

    February 10, 2009 at 11:48 am


Leave a Reply

