Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Love Poem

with 6 comments

Apparently, I have a habit of writing poems in the style of (I prefer “in response to,” actually) other poets.  It relaxes me, and gets me to bend my mind without fear of failure.  I guess that’s what this is about, anyway.  Plus, today, I am totally in love, and the poem “Clarinet” by Terrance Hayes inspired me.  Also, I needed to post something in between reading for grad school and grading an inordinate amount of papers, and this is what you get.  🙂
******************************************************************************************************
 I am sometimes the baseball glove
your parents bought
for your tenth birthday,
my body molded
to your hand, my waist
stretched and warmed
by your palms.
I feel you caress me, open
me and mold me
to your hand.
I hear you laugh
with your father in the yard.
I am not your hat
warmed in the sunlight
as you play catch,
but I want to be.
When you run to the field,
I sense your anxiety
in your tense fingers.
When the other boys
call to you in their boyspeak,
the sand holds
the impression of your feet.
Fastened tightly in
your back pocket,
I want to be at least
the baseball you send
soaring into the air.

Written by Ashley

February 10, 2009 at 2:36 am

Posted in Poem

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Omg I love this. Every last bit of it. So vivid. So great.

    mandysue411

    February 10, 2009 at 2:49 am

  2. Thanks, but I really can’t take credit. 😦 I pretty much just replaced his words with my own. I cheated.

    TheSamsanator

    February 10, 2009 at 2:59 am

  3. I like the idea of taking inspiration from the style of another artist.

    We talked about this (only in the most shallow way) in my Old English class yesterday because it came up, linguistically. We were discussing some prepositional oddity–that we consider the word “after” to be an adverb, denoting relative time, while in Anglo-Saxon it was an adjective.

    The way this is fossilized in our language is when you indicate the inspiration for your work: a sonata “after” Beethoven for example. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with “A Love Poem After Hayes.” People have been creating good work in this way for centuries.

    Becky

    February 10, 2009 at 11:39 am

  4. erm, maybe not an adjective…..but at least not the same kind of temporal connection that we use today.

    Becky

    February 10, 2009 at 11:40 am

  5. Um, less mathematically: I really like this poem. Reminds me of Atwood: “that unnoticed and that necessary.”

    Becky

    February 10, 2009 at 11:45 am

  6. Oh Becky, I love your analytical comments. 🙂 They always make me feel good about myself.

    TheSamsanator

    February 10, 2009 at 2:03 pm


Leave a Reply

