Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

the last five years

with 6 comments

To make up for my bad writing habits this weekend, tonight we will have a poem consisting of three parts.

i.
in blues and pinks I swelled
my soul turned to pure spring water
I lay down my very heart
and peeled open the rind
you drank in me and I,
I felt full

ii.
puddled on your kitchen floor
I lost my eyesight
and my insides broke into screams,
then whimpers, clinging to one last piece
of the rind
I grasped for the blues and pinks
with my invisible hands
as they evaporated into your coat
I drank what was left
and the door shut quietly

iii.
I never quite knew
what a solitary creature I could be
and am,
should be
the world is very white and black now
I picked up the heart I lay down for you
enclosed it like a hazelnut,
full to the taste but so hard to break
replacing the rind, that shell
inside I freeze and unfreeze,
cultivate a new soul
until the colors return to my unblind eyes again

someday I’ll return,
swelling again,
but never melting

Written by Molly M M

February 9, 2009 at 2:44 am

Posted in Poem

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like #1 the best. I don’t know why.

    TheSamsanator

    February 9, 2009 at 3:46 am

  2. I think I might too. Of course, it’s the happy one. I guess. I think it has the best ending of the three. But they’re a progression, of course.

    windfriction

    February 9, 2009 at 4:09 am

  3. I read it all again a few times, and the more I read it, the more it reminds me of Harper and Joe Pitt in Angels in America. It’s crazy, because he was gay and Morman, but just some of the things they said about their troubled relationship and some of the things in this poem line up in a weird way.

    TheSamsanator

    February 9, 2009 at 4:42 am

  4. Weird = good. That is one of my all time favorite plays.

    TheSamsanator

    February 9, 2009 at 4:43 am

  5. i need to see angels in america the way you need to see milk!

    i just realized that the second set is longer than the first by 4 lines, and the third longer than the second by 5. also weird.

    windfriction

    February 9, 2009 at 4:45 am

  6. Divine accident. 🙂

    And you need to both SEE Angels in America, as well as read it. The actual written version is so wonderful. The HBO movie can’t even begin to touch it. Plus, you could probably read the play in less time than it would take you to watch it; the HBO movie was actually a 6-hour miniseries.

    TheSamsanator

    February 9, 2009 at 11:17 am


Leave a Reply

