Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Yearbook, May 2008

with 6 comments

This isn’t what I wanted it to be, or even what I know it could be, but leaving LP has really been on my mind lately, and for some reason tonight I ended up crying and listening to music that reminded me of the day I moved and paging through the yearbook.  It was self-destructive, and this is just what came out.
**********************************************************************************************

Samsa:
Samsa-dizzle,
Samsanator –

To Miss Samsa:

Oh man, what a year.

I don’t know where to start.

You rock!!

Enjoy your summer.

I suppose a thank you is in order for all the times you helped me.

I’ll miss you.

This year was my favorite year of English class Fa Sho!

It’s been an honor.

You were always hard on me.

I didn’t hate you.

Have a great summer.

Stay sweet.

This year all together has been plagued with disappointment

I know I didn’t talk much, but I learned a lot.

I never hated you.

I forgive you for being hard on me.

Thank you.

The last two years have been amazing.

The after school chats always gave me sensible optimism and helped immensely. 

Thank you for sparking my interest in writing.

Keep being hard on students, even if you think they hate you.

Don’t change.

You will be missed.

It’s been an honor to learn from you.

I’m still kinda sad you’re leaving.

You brought a whole new look to the department.

Best of luck to you in your new job.

It’s been a real honor working with you.

You always kept us laughing.

Thank you so much for being hard on me.

I’m sorry if you thought I hated you.

Whenever I see a Beatles poster, I’ll be thinking of you.

I’m not going to say good-bye because we’ll see each other again.

Thank you so much.

Written by Ashley

February 5, 2009 at 4:12 am

Posted in Poem

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awe, did you really think we hated you? Well not me obviously but other people? Never, you made us think and work and you brought exciting fun stuff to the english, drama, newly founded slam poem, departments everyday even if it was just your attitude about apples to apples=)(maybe that’s limited to creative writting) And really if you think about it leavings not that bad because all the coolest people graduated already anyway (cough me and sara and mike cough)

    arstal2

    February 5, 2009 at 4:19 am

  2. Ohh no, I never thought anyone hated me. That was just some poetic justice.

    They were just the two most formative years of my life (including high school and college, which is crazy to even think that something could be more influential than those years). I miss that excitement of change on the horizon.

    crazyenglishteacher

    February 5, 2009 at 4:49 am

  3. Oh good, I understand, it’s Joliet something new, it’s gotta be a change especially from Lp.

    arstal2

    February 5, 2009 at 5:16 am

  4. Ashley is a tough English teacher!

    Don’t worry, those are the best. 🙂

    mandysue411

    February 5, 2009 at 5:22 am

  5. uuhhhmmm for the record, you’re definitely one of the best teachers i’ve ever had.

    and i’m so not just saying that :]

    saraj2300

    February 5, 2009 at 6:37 am

  6. Ahhhh samsa! when you coming to visit?

    gorditodelgado

    February 5, 2009 at 5:27 pm


Leave a Reply

