Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Mother

with 4 comments

Once upon a troubled heart
while I lay awake in the dark,
my mind did wander many places
I’d like to leave untraced.

 

Distempered memories filled my mind
with shadows of the depths divine
And many times I’d much rather
have lain barren woven in lace.

Laced with something sweet

Sometimes I wonder what life could’ve been
 if I’d just have changed who I am?

But I can’t, so time less spent on fantasy
and more focused on reality.
My heart did once dream of love and lovers lives
But life’s a lie so love holds things that make me cry.
And what once were dreams are nothing now but memories

Many are held accountable in this in this rough life
No rougher than that of a mother, child, sister, brother..
 no more than i hold you now 

What love do I now lack
when the breath I spill,
Spills no stir to my heart
And wasted words
that were meant for something are nothing 

I see you now
I see you betrothed to the idea
Of what’s come to pass
as another chance
 an idea I must say I do lack
the feelings you’ve extended 

for I’ve looked in many ways
And come up with nothing
and you’ve looked towards me
And turned away so slowly

 And if I were to lose you
I’ve surely gained no more
than I lost in my self

 The place in my heart that you once held
 is replaced by none other than a hole
Where things do not fill but tear me apart

Written by arstal2

February 5, 2009 at 2:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. To single space, hit shift and enter at the same time.

    Don’t ask why, I have no idea.

    crazyenglishteacher

    February 5, 2009 at 3:21 am

  2. thank you, and yeah that’s…ridiculous?

    arstal2

    February 5, 2009 at 3:36 am

  3. “And if I were to lose you
    I’ve surely gained no more
    than I lost in my self”

    Oh Amy… wow.

    crazyenglishteacher

    February 5, 2009 at 4:06 am

  4. lol what?

    arstal2

    February 5, 2009 at 4:14 am


Leave a Reply

