Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Text Messages I Never Received

with 2 comments

I actually wrote this in late December (so I lied! I have written since college!) but would love some feedback. Plus I just got home like, NOW, so no creative juices flowing from this mind. It just needs sleep, and possibly some wine. Also, apologies in advance cuz I know this is gonna take up the whole fricken screen. It’s also in the style of the novel AVA, which, Ashley loves (ask her!).

***************************************************************

Running late.

 

Movie at 9.

 

I’m busy, talk later.

 

Still at work.

 

I’ll pick up beer.

 

Are you coming?

 

It’s too late.

 

What happened to you last night?

 

You’re always busy.

 

Happy Birthday!

 

I miss you.

 

Can you pick up beer?

 

Meet at the jukebox.

 

Later.

 

Almost here?

 

Omg you’ll never guess what happened.

 

Too busy working.

 

It was the beer.

 

You’ll never guess.

 

It was the night.

 

Today is my birthday.

 

I was working.

 

We should be careful.

 

Omg.

 

Not gonna make the movie.

 

It just happened.

 

It was too late.

 

F.

 

I’m just busy.

 

Take the F to Delancey.

 

I have to tell you what happened to me last night.

 

Should I get tickets?

 

I’ll talk to you later.

 

We’re waiting for you.

 

You can owe me.

 

Which train?

 

We never did talk later.

 

Got the tickets?

 

It’s broken.

 

It was my birthday.

 

No beer!

 

We weren’t happy.

 

Just after 9.

 

Told me to be careful.

 

Omg no more beer.

 

I was always waiting.

 

My life is a movie.

 

Where should I meet you?

 

A bad movie.

 

Still at work?

 

I broke it.

 

For a moment, I was happy.

 

I’m at work, my god!

 

I want you.

 

Like in the movies.

 

Not now, later.

 

It’s nothing like the movies.

 

It was supposed to be happy.

 

He broke my heart.

 

I’ll tell you later.

 

You owe me $30.

 

I broke his heart.

 

I didn’t even see the movie.

 

Pay what you owe.

 

I want you.

 

Is that okay?

 

I’ll call you when I’m done with work.

 

He wasn’t always there.

 

No more beer, god.

 

He owed me his heart.

 

I owed him nothing.

 

Why didn’t you call?

 

I wasn’t always there.

 

I should have been careful.

 

He owed me nothing.

 

Are you near an F train?

 

I wasn’t careful.

 

Working later, I’ll call you.

 

When am I ever careful?

 

Always too busy.

 

I can’t stop thinking about you.

 

I’m sorry.

Written by TheUndomestic

February 4, 2009 at 4:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This thing just gets more heartbreaking as you read it. Love that it’s so compact yet expansive. My only suggestion would be to swap the second to last line with the one above it. It keeps momentum up to the last line a little better that way, I think.

    cd40

    February 4, 2009 at 6:10 am

  2. I agree with Chels on all counts.

    I’m also working on an AVA-poem (again) but it isn’t anywhere near ready. Every woman in the world should read that book. SO beautiful.

    crazyenglishteacher

    February 4, 2009 at 2:03 pm


Leave a Reply

