Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

To Sam –

with 3 comments

When we were thirteen,

you asked me about attraction.

I quoted a song or a poem,

just kept my mouth moving until

you settled back, and I  could stop holding my breath,

both of us wondering if what I’d said applied

to the delicate halos

we were each weaving for the other,

constructed of secrets and sideways glances,

the time you put your head on my stomach,

all our giggling turned solemn

from the weight of unvoiced affections.

Had I known we were in love,

I would have tried to explain it better.

But had I explained it better,

we would have known we were in love.

Written by cd40

February 3, 2009 at 5:48 am

Posted in Poem, Uncategorized

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So….how do we tab? Because apparently I’m slow.

    cd40

    February 3, 2009 at 5:49 am

  2. it took me a while too. you have to go to like the kitchen sink or something button. It will make a bunch more buttons appear and tab will be there

    gorditodelgado

    February 3, 2009 at 5:51 am

  3. You can also use the spacebar. That’s what I did for my poem.

    This poem is so perfectly what it was to be 13 and in love. It’s good to read your poems again, Chels!

    crazyenglishteacher

    February 3, 2009 at 12:17 pm


Leave a Reply

