Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Rockstar

with 3 comments

I’m not one for celebrity crushes.
Absurd, it seems, that some mythic fly-by-night might make me fall,
might be my substitute for warm flesh in my arms.
But your steely eyes emblazoned on my tv screen,
your gravelly voice permeating the apartment walls,
your untouchable flesh radiating warm soul,
made me stop loving my boyfriend.
And for that, well, I owe you.
(Maybe I’ll buy your cd.)

Written by Molly M M

February 3, 2009 at 5:57 am

Posted in Poem, Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is this about American Idol? 😉

    Just teasing. I absolutely LOVE the last line. I think you could even tone this up a bit, make it more… sexy? You already have the workings of some really strong language here. I’d punch the sex up a bit.

    crazyenglishteacher

    February 3, 2009 at 12:14 pm

  2. I like the contrast between the digital and flesh…and how despite the digital shortcomings, it taught you what you wanted (or didn’t want) in the flesh. If anything, I might beef up on that contrast.

    PS Did I ever tell you that we went to a wedding with Gina Glocksen…and she sang. It was pretty cool, I’ll admit (though she did wear thigh-high lace-up boots to a wedding…odd).

    cd40

    February 3, 2009 at 3:05 pm

  3. you two both know me well… or at least know my facebook life last winter well. see next post for the big reveal. heh.

    i can’t believe you two actually thought that poem worthy of comments. maybe i’ll actually revise instead of throwing in the rubbish bin…

    windfriction

    February 4, 2009 at 3:16 am


Leave a Reply

