Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

A pause to cite my sources

leave a comment »

As an English teacher, I feel a compelling need to cite my sources.  In my first two poems, I’ve directly quoted other poets and, whereas I denoted a quotation by using an italicized font, I did not expressly cite my sources.  

In “Theme for English 3,” I quoted Langston Hughes’ poem, “Theme for English B” (get it?).  In “Blessing,” I quoted Lawrence Ferlinghetti’s poem, “The World is a Beautiful Place.”  

I guess I’m trying to post poems without too much background information to see what you guys say about them without a lot of extra info, but my  guilty conscience won’t let me post without giving credit where credit is due.

Written by Ashley

February 3, 2009 at 2:54 am

Leave a Reply

