Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

Greetings from MMM

with one comment

Hello everyone. I hope we have a lot of readers, but I’m guessing about 5 max at this point. Who knows – Ashley’s popular!

My name is Molly M M. The three Ms are important because it’s how I sign all of my poetry. I just actually use a last name when not in the blogging around. The middle M, I can say, stands for Margaret… eek. I like jazz and independent music, chick flick/Disney flick/independent films, dogs, Alton Brown of Good Eats fame… and of course, all sorts of literature and poems.

I have been writing things since I was 6 years old, writing poetry-things since age, oh, 13 or 14… and then actually writing good legit poems since age 20. Like Ashley, I learned how to really write from Dr. Mike Theune. For me, it wasn’t the digging below the surface to get to truth that was difficult, as much as it was crafting the truth into something bigger than myself and something really artful and unique.

Favorite poets: Chelsey Minnis, Denise Duhamel, Olena Kalytiak Davis, Sylvia Plath, Anne Sexton, Denise Levertov… I got the nickname Molly Stevens after discussing Wallace “Wally” Stevens in Theune’s class, and I do like him quite a bit… I adore T.S. Eliot and “The Waste Land”… and once a professor from Wheaton College told me that I was the cosmic lovechild of Walt Whitman and Gertrude Stein, so I like them a lot too. And that guy. That’s pretty much the best compliment I’ve ever gotten about my poetry, and it probably will never be topped! (I just wish I could remember if he said “cosmic” or something else… there was some sort of qualifier there because, as you may know, there’s absolutely no way Walt Whitman and Gertrude Stein could/would ever have a lovechild.)

When I was in college, I wrote a research honors thesis consisting of 20 polished poems and a critical/creative essay about them and how I got to the place I got for writing them. I couldn’t have done that without Theune, my great writing friends who workshopped so many of those poems and helped me become confident in myself as a writer, and Dr. Chapman’s literary theories class. Being able to do what I got to do in theories changed my poetry… for then, and hopefully forever, too. And Vicki Magee and Kyle. I couldn’t have gotten to my first jumping off poetry point without them. Okay, enough with the love letters to my mentors and favorite writers. I am just glad to have had the experience of writing such a body of work and being influenced by such people.

Nowadays I am reconstructing myself, cracking up in a Lessian sense, and working at Wells Fargo as a sort of pseudo-underwriter. Last year I moved on from two living places, a 4-and-a-half-year relationship, and a job from which I was laid off. I also figured out how and why I want to become a expressive/creative writing therapist and am moving toward that goal. All of this should be good material for poems, but the sad truth is that I haven’t put pen to paper for a poem in almost three years: essentially, since I ended my thesis project. I’m so grateful to Ashley for having this idea and to myself for owning up and saying, you know what, let’s try it.

I’m super excited. I have no idea what poem February 1 will be about, but I have a day to figure it out. Let’s see what happens!

My blog: http://windfriction.wordpress.com. If you want to read about women’s health, woman problems, and lots of rants about problems with doctors and medication, it’s there for you. 🙂

Written by Molly M M

January 31, 2009 at 4:27 am

Posted in about me, Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The stats say 11 views yesterday an 11 today, which is more than I can say for the Samsanator. 😉

    crazyenglishteacher

    January 31, 2009 at 12:23 pm


Leave a Reply

