Poetry For Our Time

Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason. -Novalis

About the CrazyEnglishTeacher

leave a comment »

In the spirit of community, here’s a little about me:

My name is Ashley.  I now live in the suburbs of Chicago, but I spent two years in LaSalle-Peru teaching high school, and before that I spent four years in Bloomington at IWU.  Now, I’m still teaching high school, but in the south suburbs of Chicago, and I couldn’t be happier.  I also find it interesting how I define myself by my job and my location more often than not.

Likes: Bones, House, 24, The Laramie Project, Angels in America, other really great literature (poetry, drama, novels… it doesn’t matter), The Beatles, Radiohead, Andrew Bird, and recently I’ve rekindled my love for Death Cab and The Postal Service.  I also really like sentence fragments and ellipses…

Dislikes: Bad attitudes.

I started writing poetry in junior high, but most of that was, well, from junior high.  I wrote a little in high school, but mostly short stories.  I didn’t get really into the poetry writing until college, when Dr. Mike Theune showed me that searching into my soul to write poetry wasn’t really all that scary.

I’m trying to teach my students that searching into your soul to write something true (or, True, as I like to say to them) isn’t that scary, or difficult, and I think that’s what my first poem for the Poem A Day challenge is going to be about.

You can find my personal blog at: http://thesamsanator.wordpress.com.

Written by Ashley

January 30, 2009 at 2:10 pm

Posted in about me, Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

